Dance class with a legend

So Studio B was the setting and I was gearing up for one of the most anticipated House dance workshops of my life. Anyone that knows me understands how much I love the house style, so when I was given the opportunity to meet a legend and pioneer such as Caleaf I took the opportunity by the scruff of the neck.

I’ll be honest I didn’t know what to expect in terms of difficulty as I didn’t know whether he’d be throwing moves at me from left, right and centre, only allowing for each move to be shown once before moving on and then throwing them all together in the most complicated combo my feet have ever tried to keep up with. Apart from a few speaker issues and constant cut outs he handled the class like an absolute pro and it was more than a pleasure to learn from and exchange with him.

On another note, if I had a pound for every time I’m told “you dance? No way, I really wanna learn but I’m too scared” or the classic “I’ve got no rhythm” I’d be writing this from my villa in Barbados. Everyone has to start somewhere and with the array of content at your disposal there’s no reason why you can’t get started in the comfort of your own home before you become a bit more confident. My dance career (yes I use that term loosely) started from watching a simple House tutorial video of ‘Pas De Bourree’ and the rest is history.

Respect to Caleaf for flying out to the UK and sharing his knowledge with us!

Untitled.png

If you’ve never heard of the House style before and you want to know more than the internet is your oyster my friend. I part learnt through the use of the amazing tutorial videos by Jardy Santiago so just give him a search on YouTube and clear the space in your living room.

Leave a Reply

