Taper tantrum

So I’m currently sat here, 1 week and 1 day into a 3 week taper, legs in bits, foam roller and ice at the ready and wondering if I’m actually ready for London in two weeks. It’s a daft thought I know but the taper can be a cruel period where you begin to question whether you’ve done enough/the right training, whether you’ve been eating right or even if you’re actually genetically built for this running malarkey!

In addition to the above you also start to notice (over exaggerating might be more accurate) little aches and niggles which in other circumstances would have been ignored due to being so minuscule.

After cheering at the Brighton Marathon over the weekend it’s safe to say that London is most definitely becoming more real, but as nervous as I am I’m equally excited to be taking part in one of the best marathons in the world and also for such a great cause, Prostate Cancer UK. The hard truth is that all the hard work has been done and regardless of any amount of physical exertion I put in between now and race day, I won’t get any fitter. This is the period where I need to calm my nerves, maintain my fitness and mentally prepare for what is going to be a once in a lifetime experience.

I must admit that a big factor resulting in my apprehension is the abundance of pressure I’m placing on myself to achieve a fast time, coupled with the fact that SO many people will be there to cheer me on (colleagues, friends, family and of course Run Dem) and I just simply don’t want to make an arse of myself. As mentioned, gaining a fast time is not the be all and end all and I’m not going to get too caught up on it. The fact I’m running London in two weeks is such an honour and my main mission is to soak up the atmosphere and enjoy every moment, as I have an opportunity to take part in a marathon that so many people hope for but not everybody gets.

Are you running London? How are you feeling? I’d love to hear from you guys so get in touch!

4 thoughts on “Taper tantrum

  1. Awesome man, good luck for it! I’m thinking of doing my first half soon (fairly new to running as I usually spent most of my time in the gym, being outdoors is so much better though!) so it’s good to read what might crop up in the future. Are you on fb at all? We have a great group of runners, gym goers cyclists etc all sharing articles and tips like this, it would be awesome to have you join us. Here’s the link if you’re keen – https://www.facebook.com/groups/theactiveyou/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks man! Being outdoors with nature is life, I agree! I am on Facebook and will definitely check out the page, thanks for the heads up! Also, you’ve got this. A half is a great starting point and I’m sure once you complete it you won’t look back!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

